Attention! Little Mix’s second studio album, “Salute,” was released in the United States earlier this month. The British girl group was the first group to win the “X Factor” in 2011, and was signed to Syco Records. After one successful album in 2012, the girls are back with 17 new tracks sure to make fans dance and sing along.

The group consists of four members: Perrie Edwards, Jesy Nelson, Leigh-Anne Pinnock and Jade Thirlwall, who co-wrote all but four of the songs on the new album. The album consists of pop music with an R&B edge. So far, six tracks from the new album have been released on iTunes, including “Move,” “Nothing Feels Like You” and “These Four Walls.” Music videos have been made for “Move” and “Little Me.” This CD already has gone gold in the United Kingdom.

The album’s cover features gloomy colors, unlike the cover art for the group’s last album, which had bright colors.

The girls have matured since their last album and are better than ever. The album features fast, upbeat songs, such as “Nothing Feels Like You,” which includes some hand-clapping. Songs such as “These Four Walls” start off with a slower beat but pick up by the end of the song.

Although it seems like the music industry is pulling in talentless singers nowadays, the girls of Little Mix all have strong, powerful voices, creating not only catchy pop songs but ballads as well. Little Mix says that “Move” was written for those boys at a dance, acting “too cool for school.”

Aerin Wagner is a freshman at Buffalo Seminary.