There was good news Monday from Washington and bad news from Albany for two Western New York counties recovering from heavy rain and flooding in late June.

Chautauqua County is one of four upstate New York counties added to the Federal Emergency Management Agency disaster declaration for the flooding, Sens. Charles E. Schumer and Kirsten Gillibrand, D-N.Y., announced Monday.

The declaration makes Chautauqua County eligible for federal reimbursement for at least 75 percent of the eligible costs of debris removal, emergency protective measures and repair, restoration or replacement of damaged public facilities.

Meanwhile, it was announced in Albany that Allegany County and six other upstate counties rejected for FEMA assistance won’t be getting special state aid either.

The decision against extending the special state aid to those seven counties came after a review of the severity of damage to homes, businesses and other structures, a spokesman for Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo said. Earlier this month, Niagara County was approved for special state flood assistance after it was turned down by FEMA.