ADVERTISEMENT

Pope Francis is on a three-day trip to the Holy Land aimed at marking an improvement in Catholic-Orthodox relations but which is also seeing him navigate some of the region's most intractable conflicts, from Israeli-Palestinian tensions to the civil war in neighboring Syria.

The following is the schedule for the third, final day of his visit.

Monday, May 26

8:15 a.m. (0515 GMT, 1:15 a.m. EDT): Visit to the Grand Mufti of Jerusalem, Muhammad Ahmad Hussein, at the Al-Aqsa mosque complex in Jerusalem's Old City followed by a visit to the Dome of the Rock. The mosque compound is built on Judaism's holiest site, where the biblical First and Second Temples are believed to have stood, and is considered the third holiest site in Islam.

9:10 a.m. (0610 GMT, 2:10 a.m. EDT): Visit to the Western Wall, the only remains of the biblical Second Temple and the holiest place where Jews can pray.

9:45 a.m. (0645 GMT, 2:45 a.m. EDT): Laying of a wreath at Jerusalem's Mount Herzl cemetery, where Israeli leaders and soldiers are buried.

10:00 a.m. (0700 GMT, 3:00 a.m. EDT): Visit to the Yad Vashem Holocaust memorial.

10:45 a.m. (0745 GMT, 3:45 a.m. EDT): Visit to Sephardi Chief Rabbi Yitzhak Yosef and Ashkenazi Chief Rabbi David Lau in Jerusalem.

11:45 a.m. (0845 GMT, 4:45 a.m. EDT): Meeting with Israeli President Shimon Peres at his official residence.

1:00 p.m. (1000 GMT, 6:00 a.m. EDT): Private audience with Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu.

3:30 p.m. (1230 GMT, 8:30 a.m. EDT): Private visit with Bartholomew I on the Mount of Olives just outside Jerusalem's Old City.

4:00 p.m. (1300 GMT, 9:00 a.m. EDT): Meeting with priests and seminarians in the Church of Gethsemane at the foot of the Mount of Olives.

5:20 p.m. (1420 GMT, 10:20 a.m. EDT): Holy Mass with the Ordinaries of the Holy Land and the Papal Suite in the Room of the Cenacle in Jerusalem.

8:00 p.m. (1700 GMT, 1:00 p.m. EDT): Farewell ceremony at Ben Gurion International Airport ahead of departure for Rome.