Twenty members of the Buffalo Police Department were promoted in a ceremony presided over by Police Commissioner Daniel Derenda and Mayor Byron W. Brown on Friday afternoon.

Lieutenant Joseph A. Gramaglia was named a police captain.

Attaining the rank of lieutenant were Officers Amber Beyer, Brian J. Britzzalaro, Mark J. Cyrek, Patrick J. Humiston, Joseph M. Langdon and Mitchell J. Thomas.

Detectives James P. Dunham, Carl A. Lundin, Nicholas A. Mourgas were promoted to detective sergeant.

Ten police officers were named detectives: Bart A. Adams, Louis A. Cardona, Amy J. Frankel, Julie A. Ledwin, Craig J. Leone, Dawn M. Lopez, Jason M. Mayhook, Erin M. McCarthy, Joseph J. Ruggiero and Judith M. Walker.