The Bear Lake Association, which was formed to maintain and preserve Bear Lake and its watershed, has elected board members for the next year.
Sean Redden of Tonawanda was re-elected to the board with Sid Potmesil of Bear Lake and Tim Rommel of East Amherst elected as new members. They join current board members Chuck Haenel of Lakewood; Bernie Klaich of Orchard Park; Don Kobel of Lancaster; Dick Schulte of Amherst; and Pat Syracuse of Williamsville.
Officers appointed were: president, Dr. Anne Deming; first vice president, Roger Britz; second vice president, Sid Potmesil; corresponding secretary, Jessie Green; recording secretary, Dr. Bob Deming; and treasurer, Cindy Britz.
YMCA Buffalo Niagara appointed Ginger Cowne to vice president of Operations for YMCA Buffalo Niagara. She has been a part of the YMCA association since 2002. As vice president, she will oversee the operations and management of YMCA Buffalo Niagara’s seven branches as well as Camp Weona.
She has served as the associate executive director of the Highland Country Family YMCA in Hillsboro, Ohio, and most recently as the chief operating officer for the YMCA of Central New Mexico.
A graduate of Suffield University, Twin Falls, Idaho, Cowne earned both her MBA and BA in business administration. Prior to this, she attended Southern State Community College in Hillsboro, Ohio where she received an associate degree in medical technology.
D’Youville College computer technology student Devan Franchini completed the Google Summer of Code program and received a stipend of $5,000. He finished a free and open-source software coding project during the summer, with a mentor and co-mentor, working on a project to increase security on Gentoo Linux servers using SELinux.
He is a graduate of Hutchinson-Central Technical High School.
Three Canisius College accounting students have received Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarships, presented by the Association of Certified Fraud Examiners Foundation to support the education of collegiate accounting, business, finance and criminal justice students. They are:
Michael C. Carrig, a 2012, cum laude accounting graduate of Canisius who is currently enrolled in the college’s master’s program in forensic accounting. Sandra N. Nwosu, a 2012 graduate of Canisius, with a bachelor’s in accounting and accounting information systems, also enrolled in forensic accounting master’s program. She is a native of Nigeria. Charles Trottier, also a 2012 accounting graduate, is enrolled in the college’s MBA program. He is a native of Quebec and is pursuing his CPA license.
Five faculty members at the University at Buffalo have received Milton Plesur Excellence in Teaching Awards from the undergraduate Student Association for their commitment to students and the quality of their teaching. The award is named for Plesur, a professor in the Department of History who died in 1987.
The recipients are:
Sarah Elder, professor in the department of Media Study, and adjunct professor of anthropology. Elder, who has been on the faculty since 1989, is an award-winning documentary film director, known in particular for her 25 years of documentary work among Alaskan Eskimos and other indigenous Arctic peoples.
James Jensen, professor in the department of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering. An environmental engineer and UB faculty member since 1988, Jensen serves as director of undergraduate studies and director of the master’s program in environmental science. He also is academic director for the Research Exploration Academy in the Undergraduate Academies. He has directed recent undergraduate research projects on sustainable drinking water treatment practices in Africa.
Peter Morgan, associate professor, department of economics. A UB faculty member since 1989, Morgan serves as director of undergraduate studies in the economics department.
Bradley Owens, assistant professor of organization and human resources in the School of Management. Owens, who joined the faculty in fall 2011, teaches organizational behavior and administration. A member of the Academy of Management, his academic interests include leadership, team processes, race and gender issues, and work/life balance.
David F. Watson, associate professor of chemistry. A UB faculty member since 2004, Watson teaches general chemistry, a course taken by large numbers of undergraduates. His research interests involve materials synthesis, surface chemistry, photochemistry and spectroscopy.
A number of Western New York individuals with disabilities were among the 59 statewide Joslin Outstanding Performers recognized through New York State Industries for the Disabled Inc.’s annual people-centered awards program.
The honorees are:
Paul Danson, Southeast Works, janitorial; Fred Ferrainolo, Arc of Livingston-Wyoming/Hilltop Industries, bean bagging; Ralph Haxton, Allegany County NYSARC Inc., custodial; David Jenks, Lifetime Assistance, secure document destruction; Roxanne Kio, Genesee County NYSARC, janitorial; William Martin, Cattaraugus County NYSARC/Rehabilitation Center, custodial; Jeremy Swarthout, Chautauqua County NYSARC Inc., custodial; Garth Van Etten, CDS Monarch, material handler.
Honorees received a certificate of achievement and a cash award of $300.
Juliano Pecora, Depew deputy mayor and trustee, has received a certificate of appreciation from the Civil Air Patrol, United States Air Force Auxiliary, for his outstanding continued support for emergency services.
Pecora is a former Civil Air Patrol member and served on its search and rescue team as a radio operator, including training at Plattsburgh Air Force Base. During his service with CAP, he earned the Brigadier General Bill Mitchell Award, achieved by less than 15 percent of members nationwide.
Army Reserve Pvt. Derek J. Middlebrooks has graduated from basic combat training at Fort Jackson, Columbia, S.C. He is the son of Cariol Horne and Derek Middlebrooks, both of Buffalo, and a 2005 graduate of Burgard High School.