NASCAR Sprint Cup
Event: Advocare 500
Site: Hampton, Ga.
Schedule: Friday, practice (Speed, 2:30-4 p.m.), qualifying (Speed, 6-7:30 p.m.); Saturday, practice (Speed, 2:30-3:30 p.m., 5:30-6:30 p.m.); Sunday, race, 7:30 p.m. (ESPN, 6:30-11:30 p.m.).
Track: Atlanta Motor Speedway (tri-oval, 1.54 miles).
Race distance: 500.5 miles, 325 laps.
Last year: Jeff Gordon won the rain-delayed race, holding off Hendrick teammate Jimmie Johnson in a Tuesday finish.
Last week: Denny Hamlin won at Bristol to tie Johnson, Tony Stewart and Brad Keselowski for the series victory lead with three. Johnson finished second.
Fast facts: Greg Biffle leads the season standings with two races left in the regular season. Johnson is second, 11 points back. The top 10 — Dale Earnhardt Jr. is third, followed by Matt Kenseth, Martin Truex Jr., Clint Bowyer, Keselowski, Hamlin, Kevin Harvick and Stewart — will earn spots in the 12-driver Chase. Kasey Kahne, with two victories, holds the first of the two wild-card spots that will go to the drivers with the most victories in the 11th-20th spots. Kahne is 11th in the standings. No. 13 Kyle Busch, No. 14 Gordon, No. 15 Ryan Newman, No. 16 Marcos Ambrose and No. 18 Joey Logano each have one victory. The points will be reset to 2,000 for each Chase qualifier, and the top 10 will receive three points for each regular-season victory.
Next race: Federated Auto Parts 400, Sept. 8, Richmond International Raceway, Richmond, Va.


Event: NRA American Warrior 300

Site: Hampton, Ga.

Schedule: Saturday, practice (Speed, 11:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m.), qualifying (Speed, 3:30-5 p.m.), race, 7 p.m. (ESPN, 6:30-10 p.m.).

Track: Atlanta Motor Speedway (tri-oval, 1.54 miles).

Race distance: 300.3 miles, 195 laps.

Last year: Carl Edwards held off Kyle Busch after overcoming a pit-stop penalty.

Last week: Joey Logano raced to his sixth series victory of the year, chasing down Kevin Harvick at Bristol and holding on over a series of late cautions. Defending series champion Ricky Stenhouse Jr. was second.
Fast facts: Elliott Sadler leads the season standings, 19 points ahead of Stenhouse. Sadler leads the series regulars with four victories. ... Busch, Logano and Harvick are racing along with fellow Cup drivers Denny Hamlin and Brad Keselowski.

Next race: Virginia 529 College Savings 250, Sept. 7, Richmond International Raceway, Richmond, Va.


Camping World Trucks

Event: Jeff Foxworthy's Grit Chips 200

Site: Hampton, Ga.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Speed, 1-2:30 p.m.), qualifying (Speed, 4:30-6 p.m.), race, 8 p.m. (Speed, 7:30-10:30p.m.).

Track: Atlanta Motor Speedway (tri-oval, 1.54 miles).

Race distance: 202.2 miles, 130 laps.

Last year: Ron Hornaday Jr. raced to the second of his four 2011 victories, winning on pit strategy. He has a series-record 51 victories.

Last race: Timothy Peters won at Bristol on Aug. 22, leading all 204 laps for his second victory of the season and fifth overall.

Last week: Peters leads the season standings, 17 points ahead of James Buescher. Buescher has a series-high three victories. ... Brothers Kyle and Kurt Busch are racing against each other for the first time in the series.

Next race: American Ethanol 200, Sept. 15, Iowa Speedway, Newton, Iowa.



Event: Grand Prix of Baltimore

Site: Baltimore.

Schedule: Friday, practice; Saturday, practice, qualifying (NBC Sports Channel, 6-7 p.m.); Sunday, race, 2:45 p.m. (NBC Sports Channel, 2-5 p.m.).

Track: Streets of Baltimore (street course, 2.0 miles).

Race distance: 150 miles, 75 laps.

Last year: Team Penske's Will Power won the inaugural race for the last of his six 2011 victories. Oriol Servia was second.

Last week: Ryan Briscoe won at Sonoma, holding off Penske teammate Power for his first victory of the year and eighth overall.

Fast facts: Power leads the season standings with two races left, 36 points ahead of Andretti Autosport's Ryan Hunter-Reay. ... The downtown course runs along the Inner Harbor.

Next race: MAV TV 500, Sept. 15, Auto Club Speedway, Fontana, Calif.


NHRA Full Throttle

Event: U.S. Nationals

Site: Clermont, Ind.

Schedule: Friday, qualifying; Saturday, qualifying; Sunday, qualifying (ESPN2, 11 a.m.-2 p.m., 5-7 p.m.); Monday, final eliminations (ESPN2, noon-6 p.m.).

Track: Lucas Oil Raceway.

Last year: Antron Brown became the first U.S. Nationals winner in both Top Fuel and Pro Stock Motorcycle, beating Del Worsham in the Top Fuel final. Mike Neff raced to the Funny Car victory, Greg Anderson won in ProStock, and Hector Arana Jr. topped the Pro Stock Motorcycle field.

Last race: Ron Capps topped the Funny Car field in Brainerd, Minn., on Aug. 22 to take the points lead.

Fast facts: The event ends the 17-race regular season. The top 10 in each division will qualify for the six-race Countdown to the Championship.


Formula One

Event: Belgian Grand Prix

Site: Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Speed, 8-9:30 a.m.), Saturday, practice, qualifying (Speed, 8-9:30 a.m.); Sunday, race, 8 a.m. (Speed, 7:30-10 a.m.).

Track: Spa-Francorchamps (road course, 4.35 miles).

Race distance: 191.415 miles, 44 laps.

Last year: Sebastian Vettel raced to the seventh of his 11 victories en route to his second straight season title. Red Bull teammate Mark Webber was second.

Last race: McLaren's Lewis Hamilton won the Hungarian Grand Prix on July 29.

Fast facts: Alonso leads the series with three victories. ... The course is the longest in F1.

Next race: Italian Grand Prix, Sept. 9, Autodromo di Monza, Monza, Italy.


Western New York
Dunn Tire Raceway Park: Jet Cars, Friday, 7 p.m. Season Stock Car Championships, Saturday, 6:30 p.m.

Holland: Budweiser Season Championships, Saturday, 4:30 p.m.

Ransomville Speedway: 358 Modified/Sportsman Season Finale, Friday, 7:15 p.m.

Raceway 5: 360 Late Model Championship Night, Saturday, 6 p.m.

Merrittville Speedway: Lucas Oil Weekly Racing Series Championship Finale, Saturday, 7 p.m.

New Humberstone: Sportsman/FASTRAK Late Model Point Finale, Friday 7:45 p.m.

Wyoming County: SST Modified 100, Sunday, 6 p.m.

Stateline Speedway: Labor Day Special, Friday and Saturday, 7 p.m.

Lake Erie: Championship Night, Saturday, 6 p.m.