Dale B. Demyanick, a 1979 graduate of Daemen College, was recently elected chairman of the Daemen College board of trustees. Demyanick is a partner with the accounting firm of Lumsden & McCormick.

Officers elected to the board’s executive committee are: vice chairman, Thomas P. Stewart, president and CEO, Coolture LLC; and secretary/treasurer, Richard J. Day, a partner at Hiscock and Barclay.

Also named to the executive committee were: Catherine M. LePage-Campbell, ’84, senior vice president of government programs, BlueCross BlueShield of Western New York; Robert M. Chur, president and CEO of ElderWood Senior Care; Connie Vari, executive vice president and chief operating officer of Kaleida Health; and Daemen President Gary A. Olson, ex-officio.


Edward C. Cosgrove recently concluded his representation of several agents of the Federal Bureau of Investigation and has been commended by the Buffalo Chapter of the Federal Bureau of Investigation Agents Association for exemplary character and service.

Cosgrove, a former FBI agent and Erie County district attorney, is principal for Cosgrove Law Firm, which specializes in the management of civil and criminal crisis in the practice of law.

Cosgrove is the recipient of the highest possible peer review rating in legal ability and ethical standards by Martindale-Hubbell. He has been so rated by his fellow attorneys and judges for the last 32 years.


Gabriel A. Love of Buffalo enlisted in the U.S. Air Force Delayed Entry Program, according to Staff Sgt. Orion LaMontagne from the Tonawanda recruiting office. Upon graduation from the Air Force’s basic training course in San Antonio, Texas, he is scheduled to receive technical training in the security forces apprentice area. He will be earning credits toward an associate degree in applied sciences through the Community College of the Air Force.

Love is a 2012 graduate of Bennett High School.


The Council on Elder Abuse honored Miguel Santos with the Exemplary Service Award for handling problems seniors have with National Grid.

Santos, a consumer advocate for National Grid, is involved with a number of groups working to provide a safe and healthy environment for seniors. He administers National Grid’s relationships with community agencies and represents the company at public forums and in emergency preparedness.

The council is a multidisciplinary group dedicated to addressing the problem of elder abuse in Erie County.


Pastor Herschel Chapman Jr. and the New Hope Baptist Church Education Scholarship committee recently announced the 2013 scholarship award recipients. Scholarship awards were presented during church service held June 23.

Honorees are: Tiana Wilson, McKinley High School; Carlos Siragusa, McKinley High School; Brandon Holmes, Tapestry Charter School; Rudra Mani Khanal, Burgard High School; Matthew Foster, Frederick Olmsted High School; Malik Stubbs, McKinley High School; Dwight Jackson, Hutchinson-Central Technical High School; Deja Stevens, Buffalo Academy for Visual & Performing Arts; and Shana Ford, Buffalo Academy for Visual & Performing Arts.

Each year the New Hope Baptist Church Christian Education Scholarship committee hosts the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Scholarship Breakfast in January, on the national day of celebration of the life of Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Proceeds are used to fund scholarships for young adults who will be entering post-secondary education.