As youth tries to get served at the 50th annual George A. Obenauer Masters at Thruway Lanes, past champion Liz Johnson reminded everyone the veterans in the field are still scary good.

Johnson, whose resume includes titles at the USBC Queen’s and U.S. Women’s Open tourneys, closed her night with a 300 game to finish with the highest three-game set in match play Thursday, cruising against Tonawanda’s Joe Burgio, 736-632.

The tournament resumes tonight with winners bracket matches followed by once-beaten action at 6:30.

Johnson will next face 18-year-old Andrew Herbert of Eden, who advanced by beating 17-year-old Maryvale star Melanie Hannon, 615-448. Hannon, who had the highest four-game block (878) during the eight qualifying games recovered to win her loser’s bracket elimination match, 547-544, over Matt Zasowski.

Top qualifier Chad Mee, 17, advanced but was pushed by 68-year-old Tony Verdi, the oldest past Obenauer champion in the field, 579-549.

Thursday’s results

6:30 Winners Bracket

Dave Zajac d. Matt Zasowski 694-548; Chad Mee d. Tony Verdi 579-549; John Meczynski d. Frank Cascio 587-547; Joe Ciccone d. Mike Sadowy 612-535; Adam Collura d. Matt Zachowicz 608-558; Ken Ball d. Andy Ochal 612-526; Mike Zarcone d. Geno Walh 574-501; Charlie Zmozynski d. Devon Miller 632-554.

7:45 Winners Bracket

Liz Johnson d. Joe Burgio 736-632; Andrew Herbert d. Melanie Hannon 615-448; Joe DiNardo d. Jeff Walsh 581-535; Carl Kinyon d. Sal Augugliaro 520-488; Jeff Hejna d. Mike Bedford 652-636; Jason Ciliberto d. Marion Singleton 639-583; Jacob Hiam d. Tony Dolan 574-554; Brandon Digati d. Joe Alajko 587-540.

9:00 Elimination Bracket

Tony Dolan d. Devon Miller 589-575; Marion Singleton d. Matt Zachowicz 614-525; Geno Walh d. Joe Alajko 517-501; Mike Bedford d. Andy Ochal 593-592; Frank Cascio d. Jeff Walsh 591-514; Tony Verdi d. Joe Burgio 518-487; Mike Sadowy d. Sal Augugliaro 605-474; Melanie Hannon d. Matt Zasowski 547-544.

Friday’s Winners Bracket Matchups

6:30: Dave Zajac vs. Chad Mee; John Meczynski vs. Joe Ciccone; Adam Collura vs. Ken Ball; Mike Zarcone vs. Charlie Zmozynski; Liz Johnson vs. Andrew Herbert; Doe DiNardo vs. Carl Kinyon; Jeff Hejna vs. Jason Ciliberto; Jacob Hiam vs. Brandon Digati.

Friday’s 7:45 p.m. and 9 p.m. Winners and Elimination bracket matches to be determined.