Five former champions will be in the field when the 50th annual George A. Obenauer Masters Tournament gets under way with the first night of qualifying at AMF Thruway Lanes on Tuesday. Opening ceremonies are scheduled for 6:15 p.m. when 10 past champions will be honored.

Each of the Obenauer participants will bowl eight qualifying games, four Tuesday and four Wednesday. The top 32 will move to double-loss elimination match play (three games total pinfall) on Thursday night. Match play will continue Friday and Saturday with the final four bowling for the championship on Sunday starting at 1 p.m.

Previous winners in the field are Liz Johnson (2009), Joe Ciccone (2000, 2008), Mike Hanes (1979, 1985 and 2005), John Meczynski (1997) and Tony Verdi (1972). Other champions who will be on hand for the opening festivities include Frank Coburn (1965), Joe Golebiewski (1974), Joe Jack (1976), Nick Maile Jr. (1991) and Dan Patterson (2006).

Last year’s champion, Brad Angelo, is not entered.