State officials worried about the spread of the emerald ash borer are planning to expand a quarantine zone past Western New York to all counties south of the Thruway east to the border except for Rockland, Westchester, Nassau and Suffolk counties and New York City.

In the quarantine zone, no ash trees or any kind of firewood can be moved out of the quarantine area between May 1 and Sept. 30.

The ash borer, first detected in the U.S. last year, has since destroyed millions of trees in 18 states.

It was first found in New York State in Town of Randolph in 2009, according to the state Department of Agriculture and Markets. A quarantine zone was set up in Cattaraugus and Chautauqua counties as a result. Now, all of Western New York and part of the Finger Lakes region also have been included in the quarantine zone.