The Holland Town Board has turned down an offer to join the Western New York Southtowns Scenic Byway group.

Supervisor Michael Kasprzyk said the organization, based out of Orchard Park, has much potential but that Holland isn’t ready to become a member.

“At this time there are too many other things we need to focus on. They have lots of plans to promote the area including cultural activities, but for the time being we are going to wait and see,” Kasprzyk said.

He noted that the pass on membership doesn’t preclude the town from joining the organization in the future.

Signs indicating Scenic Byway routes are posted in each of the seven towns that have joined: Aurora, Boston, Colden, Concord, East Aurora, Orchard Park and Springville.