School champions from throughout Western New York will take a written test Wednesday in hopes of qualifying for the 86th annual Buffalo News Spelling Bee.

Twenty students with the highest scores will compete in the oral finals March 10 at the Buffalo History Museum. The winner of that competition will go on to the Scripps National Spelling Bee, courtesy of The Buffalo News, to be held the week of May 26 in Washington, D.C.

Here are the spellers, their schools and their alternates:

Allegany County

Belfast Central – Michael Hamer and Megan Rose; Cuba-Rushford Middle – Maddyson Nugent and Jacob Moshier; Fillmore Central – Michael McDonald and Julia Hotchkiss; Genesee Valley Central –- Chase Robbins; Wellsville Middle – Quinn Burke and Justice Bremiller.


Buffalo Academy for the Visual and Performing Arts – Gabriella Hall and Crystal Rodriguez; Nardin Elementary – Jacqueline Richardson and Josh Lane; Nichols Middle – Saloni Kumar and Sumayyah Haq; School 19 Native American – Noah Casillas and LeAnne Seneca; School 27 Hillery Park Elementary – Naia Mitchell and Lamari Blue; School 89 Lydia T. Wright – William David and Leecia Clinkscales; South Buffalo Charter –Hawraa Ahmed and Andrew Calabrese; Universal – Yasmeen Collins.

Cattaraugus County

Ellicottville – Alana Curtis and Jacob Perkins; Franklinville Elementary – George Osborne Jr. and Seth Pfeiffer; Hinsdale Central – Gabriel Kellogg and Tobias Nelson; Olean Intermediate Middle – Sachita Barua and Natalie Sova; West Valley Central – Josh Howe and Emma Lea.

Chautauqua County

Brocton Central -–Jennifer Palmer and Dylan Murphy; Cassadaga Valley Middle -–Madeleine Goodworth and Ben Anderson; Fredonia Middle – Seth Schrader and Matt Burr; Sherman Central – Katie Pacy and Rebekah Lee; Southwestern Middle – Stuart Rinehart and Lucas Peterson.

Erie County

Alden Middle – Victoria Waters and Emily Bush; Casey Middle – Tyler Paplham and Harry Wang; Children of Mary Home – Clare Pivarunas and Tyler Schonbachler; Christian Central – April Markowski and Grace Lattimer; Depew Middle – Kristiyan Iliev and Eliana Addesa; East Aurora Middle – Rachel Norman and Tara Porter; East Elementary – Abigail Szarowicz and Rachel Wilson; Frontier Middle – Hannah Kennedy and Carly Warner; GRACE Leah – Madeline McCoy and Benjamin McCoy; Heim Middle – Averey Scoccia and Aditi Joshi; Herbert Hoover Middle – Jacob Brill and Brianna Clark; Immaculate Conception – Robyn Seibert and Timothy Martucci; Kadimah – Gilad Symons and Manny Weinstein; Kenmore Middle – Domenic Sorrentino and Philip Davis.

Also, Lake Shore Middle – Zachary Wilson and Derek Crowden; Lancaster Middle – Connor Carrow and Chelsea Bass; Maryvale Middle – Austin Stoddard and Roquia Shawkat; Mill Middle – Christina Leska Kent and Andrew Zawistowski; Park – James Ellegate Jr. and Sydney Pfeifer; SS. Peter and Paul, Hamburg – Abigail Anderson and Rebecca Sullivan; SS. Peter and Paul, Williamsville – Peter Bertola.

Also, St. Amelia – Joseph Turri and Timothy Beltrami; St. Bernadette – Ashley Stablewski and Patrick Basil; St. Christopher – McKenna O’Rourke and Jack Westner; St. Gregory the Great – Emily Trotman and Michael Steffan; St. John the Baptist – Declan Rapp and Anna Stang; Stanley G. Falk – Adam Becker and Jeffrey Bars; Sweet Home Middle – Robert Carroll and Jackson Steinbroner; Transit Middle – Ananya Chakravarti and Nidhish Gokhale; Veronica E Connor Middle – Eliza Dudziak and Andrew Thompson.

Genesee County

Alexander Middle – Haley Fletcher and Kolbee Koch; Byron-Bergen Middle – Russell Cunningham and Celia Mercovich.

Livingston County

Livonia Intermediate – Rachael Hoh and Gregory Mayo.

Niagara County

Barker Middle – Kyle Moeller and Isabella Young; DeSales Catholic – Riley Adams and Kevin Kovach; Royalton Hartland Middle – Beatrice Bacon and Anna Fritton; St. Matthew Lutheran – David Pareja and Collin Coogan.