Aurora Town Board members Susan Friess and James Collins announced that they will not seek re-election in November to their four-year posts.

Their decision follows an announcement Monday that Charles Snyder, a political newcomer, will seek one of the open board seats in the election, and last week’s announcement that Supervisor Jolene Jeffe will run for a board seat instead of a third term as supervisor.

Meanwhile, Councilman James J. Bach, who won a four-year term in 2011, has announced he will run for supervisor.

In a prepared statement, Friess said Tuesday she is pleased with the board’s accomplishments during the past four years and believes it has set the foundation to provide continual cost savings and efficiencies in operations.

Friess said she won’t seek a second term because she always planned on running for a single term.

“I actually closed my campaign account out after my election. I did not want to be influenced in my decisions by the thought of having to be re-elected,” she said. “Every decision I made was based solely on solid research and what I felt was good for the community and the taxpayer. … My goal now is to move on and work on trying to improve the political process from the outside so we can get more people engaged in serving our community.”

After five years on the Town Board, Collins also is leaving. “It’s been both a demanding and enjoyable experience representing the town residents,” he said. “I’ve been fortunate to have board members who work well together and always have the best interest of the residents in their minds. Together, we accomplished a lot, and with creative solutions and operational efficiencies, we were able to keep under the cap and finally move to a new Town Hall.”

Both Friess and Collins were on the board through the controversial referendum on the Gleed building being transformed into a new town hall, now known as the Southside Municipal Center, as well as the renegotiation of the police contract with the village and the consolidation of the tax receiver into the Town Clerk’s office.