FREDONIA – Members of the Fredonia State College Council met the new Student Association officers Wednesday at the council’s regular meeting, held in the president’s conference room on campus.

Erin Dorozynski, of White Plains, is president-elect. Other officers are: vice president, Cassidy Brown of Mayville; speaker of the assembly, Kayleigh Cole of Wheatfield; student comptroller, Chelsea Patterson of East Amherst; and chief justice, Alexander Stone of Victor. The officers take over their new roles in January.

Council members heard about new strategies for enrollment, including a calling campaign, designed to encourage students to visit the campus. Also planned is an expanded out-of-state recruitment and possibly a bus trip to bring Erie, Pa., students to the campus.

New scholarships will be available to students in 2013. These include a President’s Science and Math Scholarship that is renewable at between $4,000 and $6,000 annually and new honors scholarship funds available from the science department.

Nearly $100,000 in one-time transfer scholarship funds will be earmarked for students from the downstate area who were affected by Hurricane Sandy.

In the area of construction, council members heard about the $60 million Science Center Building. The new building will be constructed adjacent to Houghton Hall. Construction started in July 2011 and is scheduled to be completed in the spring of 2014.

The $13 rehabilitation of the Williams Center includes interior remodeling and a new loading dock. The project is expected to be done in spring 2013.

Maytum Hall received electrical and mechanical renovations as well as new windows. The total cost for the building upgrades is about $3 million; the work is 95 percent complete.

A new fitness center is part of the Dods Hall rehabilitation project.

The $36 million project for the design and construction of an addition to the Rockefeller Arts Center will be put out for bid in January with construction anticipated to start in the summer.

Scott B. Ferguson, assistant professor in the department of biology, was the featured faculty member. A graduate of Princeton University, he reviewed research projects and his other interests with members of the council.