2011-2012 News basketball polls

State classification in parentheses; first-place votes in brackets. *-signifies tie in points.



Team (Class) Rec. Pts.

1. Canisius [10] 21-7 100

2. Niagara Falls (AA) 17-5 90

3. Jamestown (AA) 18-3 77

4. St. Joe’s 20-5 62

5. East Aurora (A-2) 20-3 56

6. McKinley (A-1) 19-3 48

7. Timon/St. Jude (A) 16-10 45

8. Frontier (AA) 16-4 18

9. Williamsville East (A-1) 16-5 18

10. Kenmore West (AA) 16-3 13

Also receiving votes (listed by points received): Riverside (Class A-2) 12, Hutch-Tech (A-1) 4, Williamsville North (AA) 4, Amherst (A-2) 3.


Team (Class) Rec. Pts.

1. Olean (B-1) [10] 22-2 100

2. OTC Middle College (C-1) 21-4 85

3. St. Mary’s (B) 20-8 82

4. Depew (B-1) 15-7 64

5. Silver Creek (C-2) 18-2 57

6. Archbishop Walsh (B) 17-6 44

7. East (B-1) 12-10 36

8. CSAT (B-1) 13-9 28

9. Maple Grove (C-2) 16-3 19

10. MST Seneca * (C-2) 16-3 10

10. Panama * (B-1) 18-2 10

Also receiving votes: (listed by points received): Tonawanda (Class B-1) 9, Cleveland Hill (B-2) 3, Dunkirk (B-1) 2, Holland (C-1) 1.

Coming attractions

• In boys basketball, Niagara Falls High School will host the Cataract Classic on Friday and Saturday. Friday’s matchups include Sweet Home versus Niagara-Wheatfield at 5 p.m., Batavia versus Williamsville North at 6:30 p.m. and Bishop Kearney versus the host Wolverines at 8 p.m.

Saturday’s slate includes six games. Grand Island versus Wilson at noon, Newfane versus St. Mary’s at 1:30 p.m., Geneva versus Timon/St. Jude at 3 p.m., Depew versus. Niagara Catholic at 4:30 p.m., Jamestown versus Williamsville South at 6 p.m. and Brunswick (Ohio) versus Niagara Falls at 7:30 p.m.

• The three-day Pastor-Cooper Basketball Tournament begins tonight at Daemen College and continues on Wednesday and Thursday. A field of 12 boys teams and six girls teams will compete.

• Wrestling mats across Western New York will be busy this weekend with the St. Francis Southtown Duals on Friday and Saturday. Other Saturday tournaments include the 35th Portville Invitational, the Eigth Cheektowaga Warrior Tournament and the Fifth Cassadaga Dual Meet.

• There are indoor track meets on Friday and Saturday at Fredonia. On Friday there’s an A/B Division meet at 4:30 p.m. Saturday’s action begins at 9 a.m. with a C/D Divisional meet followed by a 2 p.m. meet involving teams in the E/F Division.

Bulletin board

TRENCH TROPHY: The winner of the 10th annual Trench Trophy, recognizing the top lineman in Western New York, will be announced during a banquet on Wednesday at the Lancaster Elks at 6 p.m.

The 2012 finalists are: Jason Bunk (Alden), John Czech (Jamestown), Cortland Haines (Jamestown), Ryan Hunter (Canisius), Sean Murphy (Timon/St. Jude), Nick Nocek (Fredonia), Michael Senn (Orchard Park), Tyler Studd (Springville), Khalil Summerville (Bennett) and Jake Swan (Maple Grove).

COLLEGE NIGHT: The Eighth annual College Night, an open house for football players who hope to play at the next level, is tonight at the Buffalo Bills Fieldhouse at 6 p.m. The event is sponsored by the Section VI Football Federation and Western New York Football Alliance.

The evening allows college coaches to meet area senior athletes and their parents to discuss recruiting issues. Recruits should bring transcripts and game tapes. Representatives from numerous two- and four-year colleges will be available to provide information to help clarify the recruiting process.

For more information contact Class AA South co-chairman Len Jankiewicz at: The event is free.

AMATEUR ALLIANCE: The WNY Amateur Football Alliance will hold its 12th annual Scholar-Athlete Recognition Dinner next Monday at Ilio DiPaolo’s Restaurant, 3785 South Park Ave., Blasdell beginning at 6 p.m. Master of Ceremonies will be Paul Peck, Radio Voice of UB Bulls Football.

The event will honor the top senior football scholar-athletes at the three local colleges: Zachary Best of Buffalo State, Dorian Polk of Erie Community College and Steven Means of the University at Buffalo. The top student-athletes in Section VI will also be recognized: Zach Eklum of Jamestown and Franklin Spina of St. Joe’s.

Also honored will be the two winners of the Bob Kalsu Memorial Scholarship presented by the Buffalo Bills Booster Club: Jacob Caldwell of Frewsburg and Jacob Clare of North Tonawanda.

The Tom Day-Tom Sestak Memorial Outstanding Lineman Award will be presented by the Buffalo Bills Alumni Association to Ryan Hunter of Canisius.

The WNYAFA Youth Football, “Contributions to Youth Football” Award will be presented to Glenn Smith.

Tickets for the Scholar-Athlete event are $22 prepaid or $25 at the door and can be reserved by calling Milt Dickerson (833-5241), Denny Lynch (983-1924) or Tim Jerome (913-6502).

• Hamburg is looking for a varsity football coach and a boys varsity soccer coach. Contact Greg Witman, Athletic Director, at 646-3344 or email

• The Niagara Frontier Lacrosse Officials Association is forming its 2013 candidates class. Classes begin January 7, 2013. The NFLOA officiates high school boy’s lacrosse in Section VI. Applications can be obatained at

Send items of interest to Sidelines via e-mail to:, mail: P.O. Box 100, Buffalo 14240 or fax (849-4587).