Games to watch this week

Pastor-Cooper Memorial at Daemen College

Today: St. Joe’s vs. Kenmore West, 7 p.m.; Hutch-Tech vs. Cardinal O’Hara, 8:30 p.m.

Wednesday: Williamsville East vs. MEC, 7 p.m.; Amherst vs. Depew, 8:30 p.m.

Thursday: East vs. St. Mary’s, 7 p.m.; McKinley vs. Bishop Timon-St. Jude, 8:30 p.m.

Town of Hamburg Lions Tipoff at Frontier

Today: Lackawanna vs. St. Francis, 6 p.m.; Hamburg at Frontier, 7:30 p.m. (final round Friday, 6 and 7:30 p.m.)

Lockport Tournament

Friday: St. Joe’s vs. Williamsville East, 6 p.m; I-Prep at Lockport, 7:45 p.m. (finals Sat., 6 and 7:30).

Olean Tipoff

Friday: Maple Grove vs. East, 6:30 p.m.; Bradford (Pa.) at Olean, 8 p.m. (final round Saturday, 1 and 2:30 p.m.)

Cataract Classic at Niagara Falls

Friday’s games: Sweet Home vs. Niagara-Wheatfield, 5 p.m.; V-Batavia vs. Williamsville North, 6:30 p.m.; Bishop Kearney at Niagara Falls, 8 p.m.

Saturday’s games: Grand Island vs. Wilson, noon; Newfane vs. St. Marys, 1:30 p.m.; V-Geneva vs. Bishop Timon-St. Jude, 3 p.m.; Depew vs. Niagara Catholic, 4:30 p.m.; Jamestown vs. Williamsville South, 6 p.m.; Brunswick (Ohio) at Niagara Falls, 7:30 p.m.

Games to watch this month

ECIC-MMA Challenge at St. Mary’s/Lanc.

Monday, Dec. 10

Niagara Catholic vs. Cheektowaga, 4 p.m.

Walsh vs. Iroquois, 5:30 p.m.

Nichols vs. Sweet Home, 7 p.m.

Bishop Timon-St. Jude vs. Kenmore West, 8:30 p.m.

Tuesday, Dec. 11

St. Francis vs. Depew, 4:30 p.m.

St. Joe’s vs. Jamestown, 6 p.m.

Canisius vs. Olean, 7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, Dec. 12

Christian Central vs. Lackawanna, 4:30 p.m.

Cardinal O’Hara vs. Lancaster, 6 p.m.

St. Mary’s vs. Williamsville South, 7:30 p.m.

Dec. 14: Yale Cup openers including Riverside at East; St. Joe’s at McKinley; Jamestown’s ECIC I opener at Orchard Park.

Games to watch next year

Jan. 3: St. Joe’s at St. Mary’s in Monsignor Martin opener for both.

Jan. 8: Kenmore West at Niagara Falls

Jan. 12: St. Joe’s vs. Canisius at Canisius College, 2 p.m.

2013 Martin Luther King Jr. Classic

Saturday, Jan. 19

at City Honors School

City Honors vs Lackawanna, 11 a.m.

East vs East Aurora, 12:45 p.m.

Middle Early College vs Sweet Home, 4 p.m.

McKinley vs Canisius, 5:45 p.m.

at Hutch-Tech

I-Prep vs. WNY Maritime, 11 a.m.

Riverside vs. St. Francis, 12:45 p.m.

Hutch Tech vs. Cheektowaga, 3:30 p.m.

Jan. 17: V-Bishop Kearney at St. Joe’s, 8 p.m.

Jan. 25: St. Mary’s at Nichols, 7:30

Feb. 3: Niagara Falls at V-Bishop Kearney

Feb. 5: Niagara Falls at Kenmore West

Feb. 16: St. Joe’s vs. Canisius at Canisius College, 2 p.m.

Section VI changes

The most notable classification changes have five longtime large schools becoming small schools — including last year’s Class A champion, East Aurora.

EA, Bennett, Maryvale and Lafayette, all of which have won sectional titles and vied for spots in the large school poll for much of the last decade, have moved from Class A-2 to Class B-1. Also moving down is Albion.

Overall, there are fewer Section VI large schools this year. Class AA dropped from 12 to 11 — with North Tonawanda sliding down to A-1. Class A dropped from 23 to 19 (A-1 reduced from 12 teams to nine; A-2 went from 11 to 10).

Conversely, Class B has bumped up from 26 teams to 30. B-1 and B-2 each went from 13 to 15 schools. Class C went from 21 to 24 schools while Class D lost one school and is now at 10.

The complete classification changes:

Class A-1: North Tonawanda down from AA.

Class A-2: West Seneca East, Starpoint, Iroquois and Lake Shore down from A-1 to A-2.

Class B-1: Bennett, Maryvale, Albion, East Aurora and Lafayette down from A-2.

Class B-2: Medina, Buffalo Arts and East down from B-1.

Class C-1: Allegany-Limestone down from B-2 while Randolph moves up from C-2.

Class C-2: Health Sciences Charter School, located in Buffalo, makes its varsity debut while the Yale Cup’s Olmsted moves up from Class D.

Yale Cup changes

A significant change in the Buffalo Public Schools alignment has longtime small-school power Middle Early College — which won a state Class C title in 2010 and was the state runner-up last year — joining most the league’s larger schools in Division I.

Yale Cup Division I: McKinley, Hutch-Tech, Riverside, South Park, Bennett, East, Middle Early College. Yale Cup Division II consists of nine schools. The scheduling is a little tricky. MST Seneca, City Honors, Burgard, International Prep at Grover Cleveland and Lafayette will play each other twice, and will also play at least one game against Emerson, Olmstead, da Vinci and Buffalo Arts (these four will play each other twice and will also play the other five at least once).

ECIC changes

Sweet Home down from ECIC I to ECIC II.

Lake Shore down from ECIC II to ECIC III.

Returning All-WNY players

First team

Adam Weir, Canisius senior

Sterling Taplin, Williamsville North junior

Second team

Jermaine Crumpton, Niagara Falls senior

Third team

Tommy Campion, Jamestown senior

Wil Bathurst, Olean junior

Sam Eckstrom, Olean junior

Fourth team

Justice Feggans, Riverside senior

Honorable mention

Jonathan Belton, Amherst senior

Aaron White, Canisius senior

Matt MacDonald, Canisius senior

Darnell Carson, CSAT senior

Brendan Cox, East Aurora junior

Quinton Campbell, Kenmore West senior

Marcus Morris, McKinley senior

Lovell Smith, McKinley senior

Reyzon Jordan, McKinley senior

Jaleo Wilkins, Niagara Falls senior

Nick Schmidt, Olean junior

Bri’an Brown, OTC Middle College junior

Zed Williams, Silver Creek senior

Jordan Glover, St. Joe’s senior

Clayton Hess, Tonawanda senior

Chaq Nettles, Williamsville South senior

2012 final state rankings

Class AA: 1. Boys & Girls (NYC); 15. Niagara Falls; 23. Jamestown.

Class A: 1. L.I. Lutheran; 11. Canisius; 12. East Aurora; 16. McKinley; 23. St. Joe’s.

Class B: 1. Collegiate (NYC). 8. Olean; 12. St. Mary’s; 19. Depew; 21. Tonawanda.

Class C: 1. I-Tuckahoe; 2. OTC Middle College; 4. Silver Creek; 10. Maple Grove; 12. MST Seneca.

Class D: 1. III-Sackets Harbor; 11. Panama.

Returning All-state players

Class AA: Third team — Sterling Taplin, Williamsville North junior; Seventh team — Tommy Campion, Jamestown senior; 10th team — Jaleo Wilkins, Niagara Falls senior; 12th team — Quinton Campbell, Kenmore West senior

Class A: Fourth team — Adam Weir, Canisius senior; 10th team — Justice Feggans, Riverside senior

Class B: Third team — Sam Eckstrom, Olean junior; Wil Bathurst, Olean junior; 11th team — Darnell Carson, CSAT senior

Class C: Fourth team — Zed Williams, Silver Creek senior

2012 Champions

Manhattan Cup: Canisius. Msgr. Martin Class B: St. Mary’s. Section VI Class AA: Niagara Falls. A: East Aurora (also A-2). A-1: McKinley. B: Olean (also B-1). B-2: CSAT. C: OTC Middle College (also C-1). C-2: Silver Creek. D: Panama. Msgr. Martin: Canisius. ECIC I: Jamestown. ECIC II: Williamsville East and Williamsville South. ECIC III: Amherst. ECIC IV: Tonawanda. Niagara Frontier League: Kenmore West and Niagara Falls. Niagara-Orleans: Newfane and Wilson. CCAA I: Olean. CCAA II: Silver Creek. CCAA III: Maple Grove. CCAA IV: Panama. IAC: Christian Central.