Most tennis players feel that they know all of the rules of tennis. After taking the following quiz on tennis rules some players may think differently.

Situation I: During a close doubles match Team A’s partner hit a shot that landed near the service line of one of his opponents. The player on team B slammed the ball directly at Player A’s partner. Fortunately, the ball went into the net and landed on their side of the court. However, in trying to get out of the way Player A’s partner touched the net with his racquet. The players on Team B claimed it was their point because one of Team A players touched the net before the point was over and had hit the net and then the ground. Players on Team A claimed the point was over when the shot hit the net and therefore it was their point. What is the correct decision?

a.) The A team is correct. b.) The B team team is correct. c.) Replay the point.

Situation II: During a singles match Player B hit a shot that landed on a ball that had rolled back from the fence on Player A’s court. However, the ball was outside the court. Player B said it was his point. Player A argued and said the point was his because the ball was not inside the court lines. Who was correct?

a.) Player A. b.) Player B. c.) The player who had more experience with line calls.

Situation III: At 5-5 in the first set of a USTA 4.5 doubles match a player on Team A was about to serve. Due to the fact that the A Team player had a powerful serve that had been timed as high as 120 mph the receiver on Team B stood at least five feet behind the baseline to receive his first serve. The player on Team A badly mishit the serve, so much so that the ball hit the receiver in the chest before the ball bounced. The player on Team B claimed it was his point because the ball that hit him in the air was behind the baseline. The server on Team B claimed that even though the ball hit the player behind the baseline, that according to the rules, it was his team’s point because the ball hit his opponent in the air before it bounced. What is the correct decision?

a.) Team A. b.) Team B. c.) Replay the point and tell the server to serve easier.

Situation IV: During a doubles match a player on Team B served a fault. The player and his partner both quickly realized that the wrong player was serving. They immediately switched places and the other player was ready to serve two serves on the first point of the game. Before he served a player on Team A stopped him and said, “According to the rules you should be getting only one serve because your partner faulted when he he hit his first serve.”

What is the correct decision?

a.) Team A is correct. b.) Team B is correct. c.) The first server should still be serving.

Situation V: During a local 3.5 singles match, Player A hit a deep shot to his opponent’s baseline. Player B stopped play and said, “Let’s play the point over because the ball was hit so hard I couldn’t tell whether the ball just missed the baseline or caught the edge of the line.” Player A quickly said, “It is my point if you are not sure whether the shot was good or not.” Player B argued, “According to the rules you should play the shot over if a player is not sure if the point was good or not.” What is the correct decision?

a.) Player A is correct. b.) Player B is correct. c.) Ask a player who was watching the match whether the shot was good enough and abide by his decision.

Situation VI: During a 4.0 doubles match a player on Team A bounced an overhead over the back fence behind Team B. A player on Team B ran through the gate behind him and miraculously returned the ball over the net. The players on Team A were so startled that they didn’t even return the shot; thinking that they had won the point because it was illegal to go outside the enclosed area to return a shot. Team B argued that their return was perfectly legal. What is the correct decision?

a.) Team A is correct. b.) Team B is correct. c.) If the player had jumped over the fence and returned the shot to his opponent’s court, the point would be theirs.

Situation VII: During a high school’s girls match Player A had two tennis balls in her hand when she commenced serving. After getting her first serve in she threw the other ball behind her into the fence because she had a two-handed backhand and couldn’t hold the ball in her left hand. She also did this on other first serves that she got in during the first game. At 30-30, Player B stopped play and called for the tournament director to come out. Why?

She told the tournament director that she was very distracted by her opponent throwing the ball behind her when she was serving. Of course, her opponent thought there was nothing wrong by tossing the ball behind her and wanted to continue the match. What was the tournament director’s decision?

a.) She agreed with Player A. b.) She agreed with Player B. c.) She told Player A to switch to a one-handed backhand.

Answers: 1.a; 2.a; 3.b; 4.a; 5.b; 6.b; 7.b (Player A was given a ball holder to clip onto her shorts; therefore solving the problem).

Scoring: 5-7: Call Roger Federer to hit with you; 4-5: USTA team potential; 2-3: Sign up for tennis lessons; 0-1: Have a garage sale for all of your tennis equipment.