LOCKPORT – Niagara County Sheriff James R. Voutour coasted to re-election without opposition in Tuesday’s balloting.

He will begin his second four-year term as the county’s $98,245-a-year chief law enforcement officer Jan. 1.

Voutour was nominated by the Democratic, Republican, Conservative, Working Families and Independence parties.

With fragmentary returns from the first 57 of the county’s 180 election districts reporting late Tuesday, Voutour had 25,970 votes.

The sheriff, who is studying for a master’s degree at Niagara University, said the top priorities during his second term in office are to maintain police services with a shrinking budget, privatize medical services in the county jail and create a fully interoperative communication system for all first responders in Niagara County.

Among other election results, Cindy Lou Joyce, a Niagara Falls Democrat, was re-elected without opposition as coroner for the district serving Niagara Falls.

Richard D. Rutland, of Newfane, also running unopposed, was elected to a full four-year term as coroner for the district serving Cambria, Lewiston, Newfane, Town of Niagara, Porter and Wilson.

Rutland, the candidate of the Republican, Conservative and Independence parties, is currently serving out the unexpired term of former coroner Russell Jackman II of Wilson, who resigned.

In the only contested elections in Niagara County, Democrat Patrick F. Stack and Wayne D. Pollow, R, C, WF, I and Green Party, were seeking election as town justice in Porter; and James G. Budde, on the Democratic and Conservative lines, Laura A. Wagner, R, WF, G, and Deborah A. Carpenter, I, were vying for town justice in Royalton. Those results were unavailable late Tuesday.

For the most up-to-date returns this morning, go to

Elsewhere in Niagara County, five candidates were elected without opposition:

• Niagara Falls City Court judge: Angelo J. Morinello – D, R, C, WF, I.

• City of Lockport Alderman, Ward 1: John Lombardi III – R, C, I.

• Cambria town justice: Henry G. Peters – D, R, C, I.

• Hartland town councilman: Brian D. Gross – R, C, I.

• Wheatfield town justice: John J. Mattio – R, C, WF, I, G.