The principals and assistant principals newly appointed this school year in the Buffalo Public Schools were introduced to the School Board this week.
The new principals are:
. Contann Dabney, at Early Childhood Center 17, who had been an assistant principal at Lydia T. Wright School of Excellence
. Denisca Thompson, at Dr. Charles R. Drew Science Magnet 59, who had been an assistant principal at Leonardo da Vinci High School
. Todd Miklas, at Lorraine Elementary, who had been an assistant principal at Frank A. Sedita Elementary
. Carlos Alvarez, at Bennett High School, who had been an assistant principal there. Alvarez is acting principal, filling the vacancy left by David Mauricio's appointment as a community superintendent.
The interview process this year involved three rounds of interviews. One round required candidates to watch a videotape of someone teaching a lesson, then write an essay explaining what they would tell the teacher to help improve instruction. The final round of interviews was with Brown.
The new assistant principals are: DeMario Strickland at Sedita; Deborah McCarthy at Hamlin Park School; Carol Smith at Herman Badillo Bilingual Academy; Cameron Hall as acting assistant principal at Wright; Deanna Schmitt at Harvey Austin School; Jonathan Welka at Performing Arts; Greg Lodinsky at da Vinci; and Daniel Zack at Hutchinson-Central Technical High School.
Appointed temporary assistant principals were Kathy Bethel at BUILD Academy and Daniel Bass at Bennett. Brian Lorentz was appointed deputy director of human resources.