Walter C. Cain defeated Matthew L. Smith in two primaries for a four-year term as Collins town justice, giving him a significant edge in the November election.
Cain won 60 votes to Smith's 30 votes in a Democratic primary, and 20 votes to Smith's three votes in an Independence Party primary.
Cain will appear on the Republican and Conservative Party lines in November, and Smith will appear on the Working Families line.
The winner will replace retiring Justice Daniel C. Kuligowski.