Members of a Seneca Nation political party that identifies itself as the original Seneca Party will hold a caucus Monday to elect a slate of candidates for the November general election.
Voting will take place from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. at Cattaraugus Territory Fire Department, 1520 Route 438, Irving, and Allegany Territory Fire Department, 8184 East Loop Road, Salamanca.
The caucus will chose candidates to run in the Seneca Nation's general election Nov. 6.
Candidates for Seneca president are Barry E. Snyder Sr., Kevin Seneca and Todd Gates. Rodney Pierce will run for treasurer. Vying for clerk are Lenith K. Waterman, Robert "Bobby" Jones and Keely Kennedy.
Candidates for Cattaraugus Tribal councillor are Cheryl Curry, Debra John, Ed Schindler, Irene Wheeler, James "JJ" White, Julie Carry Moccasin, Karen Karsten, Linda "Soupy" Doxtator, Michael Purr Jimerson Jr., Nancy Scott, Rick Jemison, Robert John, Shelley Huff, Sue Abrams and Victor A. Redeye.
Candidates for Allegany Tribal councillor are Arlene Bova, Don John, Evelyn George Shongo, Joe John, John Redeye, Kevin Printup, Mike "Spike" John, Mike Williams, Morse Abrams, Robert "Chub" Pierce and Sue John Blacksnake.
There are eight open tribal councillor seats, four each from the Cattaraugus and Allegany territories.
Another political party that is also known as the Seneca Party will select its candidates during a caucus Sept. 21.