Fifteen members of the Niagara hockey team earned Atlantic Hockey All-Academic honors with senior Jason Beattie earning a share of the conference’s Student-Athlete of the Year for posting a 4.0 or better grade-point average.

Eleven players, including Canisius freshman Stephen Miller, had GPAs of 4.0 or better during the season; thus all shared the conference’s top honor for student-athletes.

To qualify for the Atlantic Hockey All-Academic Team, a player must post at least a 3.0 grade-point average in all of the academic periods during the team’s playing season.

Beattie earned his bachelor’s in accounting in 2012 and completed his master’s this past academic year in business administration while helping the Purple Eagles reach the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 2008. He scored in Niagara’s 2-1 loss in the tournament to North Dakota.

Joining Beattie on the All-Academic Team from Niagara were: seniors C.J. Chartrain, Jeff Hannan and Dan Weiss; juniors Ryan Rashid , Kevin Ryan and Matt Williams; sophomores Nick Gawron and Mike Benedict; and freshmen Matt Chartrain, Matt Dineen, Rocky Gruttadauria, Dan Kolenda, Chris Paulin and Hugo Turcotte.

Miller is the fourth Canisius player to earn Atlantic Hockey Student-Athlete of the Year, joining Max Buetow (2005-06), Dave Cianfrini (2009-10) and Ryan Bohrer (2011-12). Miller had four goals and 13 points in helping the Golden Griffins earn their first NCAA Tournament bid.

Other Griffs to earn spots on the All-Academic Team include seniors Torrey Lindsay, Ben Parker, Chris Barrea and Preston Shupe; juniors Ryan Bohrer, Kyle Gibbons, Taylor Law, Tony Capobianco and Patrick Sullivan; sophomores Cody Freeman, Matthew Grazen, Doug Jessey, Carl Larsson, Mitch McCrank, Tyler Wiseman and Braeden Rigney and freshmen Adam Harris and Chris Rumble.