Helen Ferraro-Zaffram received the Bar Association of Erie County’s 2013 Lawyer of the Year Award at the group’s 126th annual dinner Wednesday in the Hyatt Regency Buffalo. Ferraro-Zaffram is supervising attorney of the guardianship unit at Legal Services for the Elderly, Disabled or Disadvantaged of Western New York Inc. She is the first lawyer from the public service sector to receive this award.

Other award presentations include: Outstanding Jurist Award, William M. Skretny, chief judge of the U.S. District Court for the Western New York; Award of Merit, local attorneys Michael S. Taheri and James P. Harrington; and Charles H. Dougherty Civility Award, Buffalo attorneys Scott M. Schwartz and Richard F. Griffin.


The Marie Jackson Golf Committee announced the winners of its seventh annual scholarship awards. Each recipient will receives $1,500, to be paid to the Catholic high school they plan to attend this fall. The winners were chosen solely on their written essay.

The scholarship winners are: Mallory Ashe and Kate Haettich, who currently attend Discovery School and will attend Mount Mercy Academy, and Michael Weaver and Michael Kelleher, who currently attend Trinity Catholic Academy and will attend Bishop Timon-St. Jude.


Dr. Thomas A. Lombardo Jr., an orthopedic surgeon for Northtowns Orthopedics in Amherst, is the new president of the Medical Society of Erie County. He was installed at the organization’s annual meeting May 7 in the Hyatt Regency Buffalo. Lombardo, who succeeds Dr. Raymond V. Paolini Jr., served as secretary/treasurer, vice president and president-elect of the Medical Society.

Lombardo earned his medical degree from the University at Buffalo in 1973. He completed two residencies between 1973 to 1979: his surgical residency at Millard Fillmore Hospital and his orthopedic residency at the University at Buffalo. He became board certified for orthopedic surgery in 1980.

He serves as the president of Northtowns Orthopedics and is chairman of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at Millard Fillmore Suburban Hospital. He serves on the board of directors for the New York State Society of Orthopaedic Surgeons, as a trustee for Canisius High School, and on the peer review board for Veterans Administration Medical Center.

Other officers installed at the organization’s annual meeting are: president-elect, Dr. John B. Wiles; vice president, Dr. Charles E. Wiles III; and secretary-treasurer, Dr. Timothy F. Gabryel.

The following were elected to leadership posts of society committees: Dr. Carlos L. Martinez, ethics; Dr. Paul J. Mason, practice management; Dr. Willie Underwood, legislative affairs; Dr. Stephen P. Scrivani, public health and education; Dr. Gustavo A. Diaz Reyes, new physician practice; Dr. Ernesto A. Diaz Ordaz, chairman-elect, delegates to the Medical Society State of New York.


Three Buffalo State projects were among 33 selected for the 2013 Innovative Instruction Technology Grants program that State University of New York Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher announced recently. IITG is a competitive grant program open to SUNY faculty and staff across all disciplines. Recipients will openly share the outcomes of their projects, enabling SUNY colleagues to replicate and build upon the innovations.

J. Tomas Henriques, director of digital music production in SUNY Buffalo State’s Music Department, received a $60,000 grant for a project in creative instruction for music technology called Learn-Operate-Outreach-Perform. The grant will provide technological augmentation to an existing state-of-the-art lab that will allow students in the digital music production program to build on their compositions in an iterative manner.

Jinseok Heo, assistant professor of chemistry, and Krista Vince Garland, assistant professor of exceptional education, each received a $10,000 grant for respective projects, “A Virtual Instrumental Analysis Laboratory for Buffalo State and Open SUNY” and “TeachLive from New York: Developing Innovative Practices in Immersive Teaching Technology.”


Ian B. Carlino of Buffalo, a graduating journalism, political science and French major at the Syracuse University S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications and the College of Arts and Sciences, was named a Syracuse University scholar, which is the highest undergraduate academic honor bestowed at the university.

The university’s Scholars Selection Committee, made up of faculty members, selects the 2013 scholars using criteria that include coursework and academic achievement, creative work, a personal statement and a faculty letter of recommendation.

Carlino is a 2009 graduate of Kenmore West High School.


Dr. Datta Wagle has been elected to a three-year term on the Federation of State Medical Boards’ board of directors during its annual meeting April 20 in Boston, Mass. Wagle is the first physician elected from Buffalo in the 101-year history of the federation. He will cover New York, Ohio, Maine and Illinois.

Wagle has served as a member of the New York State Office of Professional Medical Conduct since 1991. He was appointed in 2003 to serve on the administrative review board of New York State for Public Safety and Physician Discipline.

Wagle has served on the federation’s nominating and program committees and as a New York state representative to the federation. He also has served as president of the American Urology Association.


Air National Guard Airman 1st Class Nathen S. Novelli graduated from basic military training at Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio, Texas. Novelli is the son of Tina and Jeff Novelli of Dunkirk. He is a 2010 graduate of Dunkirk High School.


Dr. Marion Olivieri, professor and chair of the department of math and natural sciences at D’Youville College, was one of the featured speakers at the Hope Medical Institute and their affiliated medical universities graduation ceremony June 1 in Newport News, Va.

Hope Medical Institute is an international institute with affiliations and working relationships with schools of medicine throughout the world. D’Youville has agreement with these universities, allowing their graduates to complete their medical education at the Polish University’s English-speaking and New York State-recognized programs.