Men’s basketball player Jake Simmons was presented with the Hube Coyer Award and Karen Shaddock and Erica Johnson were co-recipients of the Ruth Houston Award at Monday night’s Buffalo State athletics award banquet in the Campbell Student Union. The college’s top athletic awards are for outstanding career athletic accomplishments.

Shaddock, a two-time All-American in lacrosse, also received the Bengal Award for Female Athlete of the Year. Men’s hockey goalie Kevin Carr received the Bengal Award for Male Athlete of the Year.

Johnson became Buffalo State’s first NCAA champion winning the indoor 55-meter dash in 2011. Simmons finished his career as the school’s all-time leading scorer with 2,079 career points over four years, smashing Randy Smith’s previous mark of 1,712 set in three seasons without the three-point shot.